You have the possibility to close your different Qonto accounts: main account, multiple account, term deposit account.

💡 For more explanation on closing your term deposit account, read this article.

You will be asked for the reason for your closure decision so that we can improve our services.

How do I close my main account?

You can ask for the closure of your account in your web interface from your computer if the following conditions are met:

  • You are the account holder

  • The account is active

  • No collective proceedings (legal redress, judicial liquidation, deregistration, etc.) are in progress

  • No term deposit account is active (only for French companies)

You don't meet all the above conditions? Contact us by chat or by email.

If you wish to close your account, follow these few steps from your computer:

  1. Go to Settings & Tools, then to Account settings section of your Qonto web application.

  2. Click on Price plan details.

  3. Click on the Close Account button.

  4. All you have to do is to let yourself be lead to the closing confirmation page.

☝️ Good to know:

The final closing of your account will take place on the last day of the current month. If you enter the closure request on the last day of the month, it will be scheduled for the last day of the following month. The balance of the account to be closed must therefore be at €0 before the last day of the month, with no pending transactions (transfer, card payment, check deposit).

If any of the conditions are not met, the closure will be postponed to the last day of the next month. You will then be billed for a new month.

🚨 Closing your account on the last day of the month will result in the immediate, definitive and irrevocable deactivation of your IBAN(s) and cards, as well as the impossibility of receiving and sending transfers.

It will therefore not be possible to activate this IBAN again, when opening an account with Qonto.

💡You can cancel your account closure at any time, before the due date.

To do so, go back to "Price plan details " and click on "Cancel Closing".

Please note that even if your account is closed, Qonto gives you unlimited read-only access for you to recover your transaction history and account statements at any time.

How do I delete a multiple account?

Smart, Premium, Essential, Business and Enterprise users have the option of having multiple current accounts under our multiple account feature.

To do this, it must :

  • Have a zero balance (0€)

  • Not have any pending transactions

  • Not have a pending check deposit

The deletion of an account will lead to the deactivation of the cards, as well as the cancellation of the transfers and direct debits linked to it.

Once closed, any transfers made to the account will be automatically returned to the sender.

⚠️ A closed account is permanently deactivated and cannot be used in the future.

To delete an account, simply follow these few steps:

  1. Go to the Business account 👉Accounts section of your Qonto web application.

  2. Select the account you want to delete.

  3. Click on the three dots at the top right of the box.

  4. Confirm the deletion of the account by entering the code received by SMS.

✌️ Good to know: Even if your account is deactivated, you still have access to the transaction history and statements of the account!

If you did not initiate the closure of your account, you will find all the information you need in the closure email (which includes your exact closure date).

Did this answer your question?